Cost: $25.00 per year
Approximate Time from Application to Issue: Usually immediate

Where to Apply:

Town Clerk’s Office

Requirements:

All business conducted within the Town of Lake George shall have a Business License. This includes all kinds of trades, vocations, occupations, professions, enterprises, establishments, and all other kinds of activities and matters which are conducted for profit within the Town of Lake George; provided, however, that this definition shall not include any and all professions licensed by the State of New York.

Links:

Form CE-200 for Businesses not needing Disability Insurance
This link is access to the Web Site of the Workers Compensation Board and directly to the pdf of Form CE-200. The Form CE-200 is necessary for those businesses filing for a Business License to declare that the business is not required to carry Disability Insurance.

This form must be downloaded and printed, completed, then sent to the Workers Compensation Board. The time period for completion using this form could be 4-6 weeks.

Phone number for inquiries and questions: 1 866 750 5157.

WCB Form CE-200 for online completion
The Workers Compensation Board Form CE-200 can be completed on line using this link.
This process can speed up the application and approval time.

FAQs:

How does a person get a permit to have a vendor’s cart?
A vending cart is considered a transient vendor. A transient vendor license costs $500 per day vending is done. The process in getting the license involves application to the Planning Board for a Site Plan review. Following approval of the Site Plan Review, the applicant must appear before the Town Board at a regular meeting. Following those approvals, the license will be granted for the specific days for which the $500 fee has been paid.

Documents:

Business or Occupation License Application 2013
Business License Renewal (PDF – 7.5 KB)

Costs: Range from $5.00 to $15.00

Approximate Time from Application to Issue: Immediate issuance

Where to Apply:

Town Clerk’s Office

Requirements:

When your dog reaches the age of four (4) months, or has been found running at large, it is time to license it. 
You must bring a current rabies vaccination certificate and proof of spaying or neutering of your dog (if that has been done) to the Town Clerk’s Office for registration. (Rabies vaccination can be done when the dog is 3 months old, leaving one month to have the dog vaccinated prior to licensing.)

Dog licenses are issued at the Office of the Town Clerk.

Go to the LAWS section of the web page to learn more information about the local dog laws.

Additional information is also available from the State of New York Agriculture and Markets web site, which is under Links on this page.

Links:

Dog Laws: Dept. of Agriculture and Markets

Cost: Varies, depending on type

Approximate Time from Application to Issue: Issued immediately

Where to Apply:

Licenses are sold daily at the Office of the Town Clerk, 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM Monday through Friday.

Requirements:

Information about the various licenses can be found through the State of New York at the Links below.

Links:

Hunting License Information

Fishing License Information

Where to Apply:

An identification number must be obtained from the State Racing and Wagering Board. Following that, permits for specific games of chance may be obtained at the Office of the Town Clerk

Requirements:

All games of chance, including 50-50 raffles, prize raffles, etc., are regulated by the State and require permits.
Additional information and applications forms may be obtained at the NYS Racing and Wagering web site reached through the Link below.

Links:

New York State Racing and Wagering Board

Approximate Time from Application to Issue:

Immediate

Where to Apply:

Office of the Town Clerk

Requirements:

1. Form of identification: Photo Driver license, Photo non-driver’s license, Passport,  Military Photo I.D., Immigration Record, Employer’s Photo I.D.

2. Age Related Document: Ceritified Birth Certificate, Naturalization Record (original document)   (Applicants must be 18 years of age or older to receive application without parental consent.)

3. If previously married, certified divorce papers of the dissolution of  the previous marriage.

4. Both parties must be present in front of the Town Clerk at the time the application is filled out.

5. The cost of a Marriage License is $40.00.

Additional detailed information can be accessed on the website of the NYS Department of Health found through the Link on this page, “Getting Married in New York.”

Links:

Getting Married in New York

Cost: No Charge
Approximate Time from Application to Issue: Immediate

Where to Apply:

Town Clerk’s Office

Requirements:

Open Burn Permits issued through the Office of the Town Clerk are only for the residents of the Town of Lake George.The purpose of such permits shall be for on site, single family, residential clean up of leaves, yard waste, newspaper, clean lumber (no plywood, pressure treated, painted/stained, etc.). 

Permits are not required for cooking fires, warmth (hunting, fishing, camping, recreation) or smudge (agricultural). 

Burning at commercial locations or waste generated by commercial activity is prohibited. 

BURNING OF HOUSEHOLD GARBAGE IS PROHIBITED. 

ANYONE clearing land for ANY constructions MUST contact the Warrensburg DEC Air Resources Office for their permit.

The Town offers to accept brush at the Transfer Station up to 3″ in diameter.

Additional information is available at the Forest Ranger’s Ofice in Warrensburg: 623 1300, or the Ray Brook Office: 897 1300.

Approximate Time from Application to Issue: Issued immediately

Where to Apply:

Permanent and Temporary permits available at the Office of the Town Clerk for those individuals living within the limits of Lake George.

Requirements:

Handicap permits are available to those residents who have one or more severe disabilities that impair their mobility.  See details on the application which is available on a link to this site. 

The permits are issued to the individual, not the vehicle, therefore in cases where two or more vehicles are owned, only one permit may be issued.

Links:

Handicap parking permit information and application